A New Tactic

29 Oct

I had an epiphany. Not the kind that sends off light bulbs in bubbles over cartoon heads with that “ping” sound effect, but still. An epiphany is an epiphany, no matter how small. (Just because Dr. Seuss never got around to writing that one, doesn’t make it less true)

My tiny epiphany was that my ideal job doesn’t exist yet. I want to be a writer/video maker/awesome new kind of reporter who uses all the mediums at her liberal-artisty disposal to tell stories. I want to be the renaissance woman of the weekly gossip rag, riding the internet wave to fame and fortune as the first to really integrate video and writing as a holistic method of reporting for the web.

Pretty exciting, no? (and get your own damn dream, you people out there saying, “Huh, that’s a cool job idea”) The only problem is that I’m not going to find a listing for this job on craigslist, or monster, or anywhere. It’s the kind of job the papers don’t know they need someone to fill just yet.

So, what do I do? I draft a letter to these papers and magazines kindly explaining why they need to hire someone to start making multi-media articles NOW before everyone is doing it. And I offer to do this funky new job for whatever they want to pay me, for one month, just so they can test it out.

It seems the best way for print media to survive the internet is to embrace it, expanding its online presence through multi-media articles featuring databases, slideshows and video content. I am a writer and filmmaker seeking to exercise both these skills as a multi-media reporter. Hire me for a month at whatever salary you deem appropriate. At the end of this time, if you are happy with my services, bring me on as a full time employee. If you are not satisfied, let me go. With very little risk, you can attract new viewers to your website by offering a holistic style of reporting few publications have yet adopted.

As a multi-media reporter, I would create original video content to accompany traditional articles and also design specifically cross-media content. For a restaurant review, I could create a short video chronicling both the meal (lending a visual angle to commentary) as well as the meal’s preparation in the kitchen (to add material unavailable within the written review). During my time at the New York Press, I created a short video to accompany an article I wrote about the first Nuite Blanche festival in New York, as well as a film covering a free CMJ concert by DOM. Multi-media reporting could potentially revive a stale column or simply serve as a more complete version of event coverage. The possibilities and market for such content is potentially limitless.

A filmmaker with a BA from Middlebury College, I have completed three internships in the field, working with media producers in Providence, Boston and Los Angeles for such networks as Animal Planet, Discovery Channel and ABC Family. As a professional, I have worked for the PBS series Planet Forward, and international PR firm Cohn & Wolfe. I am a writer for the New York Press and City Arts, a blogger for Examiner.com and Liberarlart.us, and a film critic quoted by Rotten Tomatoes.

I look forward to discussing this unique offer with you at your earliest convenience.

With an offer like that, somebody’s got to bite, right? Right? RIGHT?

Then WHAM! When I’ve proven my worth and made all this cool stuff for their website, they’ll have to hire me, because the month is up.

Pretty sneaky, eh?

Leave a Reply

