Craigslist Housing Specials!

28 Oct

More houses should look like this!

While we’re on the topic of house hunting, my two cents is that it is as hard as people make it out to be. While I can’t imagine DC is worse than NY, here’s a quick anecdote:

If you came across this listing on Craigslist, what would you think?

This one bedroom apartment is fully furnished including:on site washer/dryer, linings, towels, silverware, china, 42 inch flat screen TV, stereo and DVD player, plus fantastic wood burning fireplace! Light-filled home in Capitol Hill’s vibrant and safe Eastern Market neighborhood.Ideal for 1 or 2 people, with Aero beds to add sleeping quarters. Nearby: everything you’d want to see in DC.

Best neighborhood in city 10 minute walk to U Street metro, Whole Foods Market, Starbucks, CVS, 3 Banks (Adams Bank, PNC Bank and Wachovia Bank). Great choice of shops, bars, restaurants within 5-10 walk:Close enough to walk: restaurants, bars, and shopping attractions like Studio theatre, Cork wine , Cafe Saint-Ex, Local 57 Jazz Bar, Point Claud Cafe & Crepes, etc. Email for more details.

Not bad, right? And for $800/month — if it seems too good to be true, then it probably is right? There are inconsistencies within the listing itself: it says it is “Capitol Hill’s vibrant and safe Eastern Market neighborhood” which actually not near Corcoran Street, which is the provided address on the listing.

So I email the listing and I get this email back (excerpted):

My husband is currently in West Africa while I’m with my in Manchester ,UK with my daughter.We have been disappointed with our apartment before, this time we decided to manage it ourselves and which I believe that God will answer our prayers with a good, clean, responsible and understandable tenant,that will take upmost care of our apartment like his/her onw.I admit you really sound like the one and it would be our pleasure to let you take over our apartment till the period of time you wish to stay,if only you will agree with our terms and conditions and ready to work with us directly. …

All documents and the keys to our apartment are with my husband is in West Africa,he will commence on the delivery of the packages to the new tenant via DHL express courier service,on next day delivery,after we have come to a conclusion. …

You can visit the apartment at your practice time to check the neighborhood and location,and when you going please mind the way you will patrol the streets, so you will not be harass by security services around.But I will say that it would be better you have my apartment keys/documents with you,so that can you have the access to my apartment.

I’m suspicious, eh? But so far I haven’t been asked for any money. This is quite the scam, if that is where it is heading. But the email is also chock full of mentions of God. Does that make it more or less credible? Then there is the fact that I looked up the address provided on Google Maps and the place is a house, not an apartment. Plus googling the address, there is another listing at the same address for $600/month.

I kinda want to keep seeing where this will go.

2 Responses to “Craigslist Housing Specials!”

  1. Matt February 18, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

    This is very interesting… almost fell for it myself. However thanks to this posting, a little help from God and well…Google, I managed to call them out on it.

    Thanks for posting this. BIG HELP!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Craigslist Housing Special, Part 2 « liberalart.us - October 31, 2010

    […] Continuing my great exchange with housing scammers, I give you the latest email… note the Nigerian phone number at the end: Hello, […]

Leave a Reply

