Freelance Fun

17 Sep

freelance |ˈfrēˌlans| (also free-lance)

adjective: working for different companies at different times rather than being permanently employed by one company : a freelance journalist.

• independent or uncommitted in politics or personal life.

adverb:  earning one’s living in such a way : I work freelance from home.

noun: 1 a person who earns their living in such a way. 2 historical (often free lance) a medieval mercenary.

verb [ intrans. ] earn one’s living as a freelance.

ORIGIN early 19th cent. (denoting a mercenary): originally as two words.

I am officially a medieval mercenary.  Could the unemployed life get any more exciting?

Freelancing may be the best thing that happened to this unemployed grad.  See, I may be able fill the low-budget yet quality appearing short video production gap where our gainfully employed independent producing bretheren fail.

I’m cheap.  I’m desperate.  So I’m the perfect editor for internal PR projects with no budget to speak of.  Bingo!  Nobody wants to employ me, so now everybody can.  I am a freelance superstar!  Watch me fight with iMovie like the spoiled-by-final-cut editor I am!

Okay, it may not be steady, or pay all that well, but it’s a baby toe in the door that so often slams shut in our faces.  Huzzah for opportunity, in all its guises.

Leave a Reply

