Breaking the News

10 Sep

Remember that NY Press interview?  The one that fell on the heels of the Onion rejection?  Well, a four hour bus ride, fifteen minute interview, batch of chocolate chip cookies, and three article pitches later, I got it.

That’s right, I’m an intern.  Now don’t get crazy, I’m not employed.  Quell those worries, my diehard internet fans–I am not even close to bringing home a paycheck, so I am still quite qualified to write for this blog.  I’ll just also be writing for the New York Press.  For free.

Which brings me to my newest quandary:  how exactly does one move to New York City on a budget of zero dollars?  Since my life is not a master card commercial, I have returned to the age old, well respected, tax evading pursuit of babysitting.

That’s right, I spent most of today shouting “Vamanos Amigos” while wrestling with a two-year-old.  I got a messy reintroduction to playground politics, and found out which nannies will actually speak to a newcomer (hint: none).  I made fifteen bucks an hour without taxes.  So while this may not be me living the dream, colonizing Mars, or writing my own wildly popular column for the New York Times, this is me making ends meet.  Walking the stroller, holding hands to cross the street, and doing whatever it takes to earn money while the economy catches up to the fact that I am one of many brilliant young minds aching to be employed.  As they would say in the army, Ho-ah.

3 Responses to “Breaking the News”

  1. Ryan K. September 11, 2010 at 11:10 am #

    Congrats, Leslie!

  2. MA September 11, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    Congratulations. It is about time I hear some good news for the liberal artists writing this blog. An internship is a wonderful first step to get your feet wet for getting employed. Good luck going forward.

  3. Jason Mittell September 12, 2010 at 3:23 pm #

    Congrats! I look forward to hearing insider gossip about Armond White…

Leave a Reply

