Slaves, Apply Here

27 Aug

Today I got a very nice, formula rejection letter from the Onion.  Today I also got an interview for an unpaid internship with the New York Press.  It’s been quite the exciting week in my unemployment story.

I was weathering my first rejection pretty well.  I convinced myself that the world works in mysterious ways, that it will all work out in the end, and that I didn’t want to work there anyway (the ultimate trifecta of denial and wishful thinking).  I was just fine, thank you very much.

That is, until Sarah so wisely texted: “where does a company get off thinking that they’ve got the right to take applications for slavery??”

Here I was, imagining that I was let down easy, that there really were too many awesome, superhero interns out there and they just couldn’t take us all.  And there they were, telling me I couldn’t work for them for free.

Wait a minute.  When did the power balance shift?  When did it become okay for Them to dictate when and how We volunteer to do the most undesirable work in the office for absolutely no pay?  We are highly educated free thinkers who still manage to fall into a trap of crawling on our hands and knees through the muckety muck to achieve a position with no tangible benefits and only the promise of furthering our nonexistent careers.  Call in the activists, throw glitter on the protest signs and get to marching–I spy some serious injustice.

6 Responses to “Slaves, Apply Here”

  1. Just_uraverage August 28, 2010 at 2:24 pm #

    I’ve felt exactly the same way, but we, unfortunately have to pay our dues first and play by Their rules. We have it in our heads that the world owes us something b/c we have college degrees. I recently started an unpaid internship with a great boss that treats me with respect. As long as they don’t treat you like a slave, I think it can be a valuable experience.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Unpaid Internships « liberalart.us - August 30, 2010

    […] Author Sarah ← Slaves, Apply Here […]

  2. Interns: Slaves or Heros? « liberalart.us - August 30, 2010

    […] and Leslie both commented: we’re clearly on a roll with this intern thing. So let’s keep it cooking… my thoughts on internships: paid, unpaid, or […]

  3. rejection, new plans, rejection, new plans, repeat. « liberalart.us - September 2, 2010

    […] I’m not that disappointed. Unlike Leslie, I’ve been denied enough of times to not blink twice at a rejection […]

  4. Breaking the News « liberalart.us - September 10, 2010

    […] Sep Remember that NY Press interview?  The one that fell on the heels of the Onion rejection?  Well, a four hour bus ride, fifteen […]

  5. Always The Bridesmaid « liberalart.us - October 9, 2010

    […] know we’ve all gone over the intern dilemma in past posts, but I just wanted to angry rant to the world for a moment. Why am […]

Leave a Reply

