Good Enough

24 Aug

Aint she just oozing Trendy?

I am currently sitting in the trendiest Starbucks I’ve ever been in (and given that one of Starbucks governing principles is trendiness, that is saying something). The map tells me that I’m in Soho, but outside I can see an International Culinary Center and an Aldo–I thought Soho was supposed to be alternative and chic! All of the women inside this illustrious vendor of caffeinated beverages are either wearing six-inch patent leather kitten heels or those super hip flat sandals with the strap around the ankle. It’s an hour before my interview at The Onion and I don’t think I’m in Kansas anymore.

As couple at the next table argue about vacations to Florida (the girl looks like an anchorwoman and the guy calls his computer plug a “power source”) and the woman across from me futzes with her fluorescent pink lipstick that exactly matches the tips of her carefully manicured fingernails, I wonder about what I should know but don’t know to be prepared for this interview. Silly, really, since I can’t know what I don’t know, but only know that I don’t know what I don’t know … but still. I am unduly nervous, overpacked and lugging around two batches of cookies I baked yesterday. I don’t think I can possibly appear more desperate. And keep in mind, I am applying to an unpaid internship.

What is wrong with me? Cocky, college-aged me would go into this knowing to her vary core that she was, quite literally, the shit. She never worried about being offered the job, in fact, she treated these internship interviews as an audition for the company to prove that they deserved her overqualified, cookie-baking services for the summer. And now, facing that same interview, I am quaking in my flats. Has the job market psyched me out? Have the unemployment statistics gotten to me? Where did that arrogant, confident girl get to? Does she know something I don’t?

One interview later … I’m feeling like the guy who finishes the marathon right in the middle of the pack. My heart is still racing a bit, my armpits damp. Did I answer things appropriately? I said “um” a couple times, did he hate that? He didn’t say “um” at all. I wish I could train my speech that well. Is he going to read this blog post? Shoot–have I said anything incriminating on this blog?

Okay, okay, enough. I’ve answered his questions, he’s answered mine. The only thing remaining in that office to represent me is his notes, my resume and some rapidly disappearing cookies. I’m totally going to be that girl who brought the cookies. And that is just going to have to be good enough.

3 Responses to “Good Enough”

  1. Ryan K. August 24, 2010 at 6:47 pm #

    I read recently that CEOs that don’t say “um” when talking to their employees are more likely to be lying about the performance of the company.

  2. Junia August 24, 2010 at 7:43 pm #

    Baww, you would bring cookies to an interview 🙂 Good luck, good luck, and good luck!

  3. Loren August 31, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    OMG was Mary-Kate or Ashley Olsen at your starbucks. so lucky that you got to feast your eyes upon her/them/it.

Leave a Reply

