Me: One, Career Counselor: Impressed

3 Aug

Visit number two to the career counselor went well. So well, in fact, that I am her single most self-aware client. Booya.

For my homework (yes, I had homework, stop snickering) I had completed something called the Strong Interest Inventory test online. (Can you guess what the test tests for exactly? Since I’m feeling charitable, I’ll give you three tries.) Before I got to see the results, my career fairy slapped a sheet of paper down in front of me.

Apparently there is a party at which you have to choose one group of people to hang about with.

R: People who have mechanical ability, prefer to work with objects, machines, tools, plants, animals or be outdoors.

I: People who like to observe, learn, investigate, analyze, evaluate, or solve problems, specifically those of a scientific nature.

A: People who have artistic, innovating, or intuitional abilities, and like to work in unstructured situations using their imagination or creativity.

S: People who like to work with people–to inform, enlighten, help train, develop, or cure them, or are skilled with words.

E: People who like to work with people–influencing, persuading, or performing or leading or managing for organizational goals or for economic gain.

C: People who like to work with data, have clerical numerical ability, carrying things out in detail or following through other’s instructions.

Now we all know where the real party is at. A is for Artist, and is good enough for me. But, if all the A’s should suddenly leave the party (GASP!) I would go hang with the Investigative crowd (despite the disgusting green their part of the room was painted). And if they should all mysteriously disappear–given the group my money is on a hidden teleport–I would mosey on down to those Social butterflies.

These are the same three strengths in the exact same order that my online test determined. Score one for me, and score one for the online test designers–I wasn’t sure how describing how comfortable I would be coming into contact with a highway construction worker would help determine my future, but there you go. My career counselor was extremely impressed at the match. The part of me that loves recognition (my other homework involved learning some not-so-nifty bits about my work needs for satisfaction) perked up to preen at even this funny sort of praise.

What’s neat about the Party and the Strong is that I can take my AIS-ness and use it to find career fields where I will feel satisfied. Careers like architect, technical writer, video editor, and college professor. Not that all these possibilities interest me, mind you. But hey, its the closest this investigative, social artist is going to get to a scientific method for job hunting and life happiness.

So take note liberal artists. Consult yourself, then consult the google. Self awareness can indeed lead to satisfaction. That is, according to my career counselor.

Leave a Reply

