Pick up the damn phone

20 Apr

I’ll be the first to tell you, at one point I was afraid of the telephone. You know, that thing device you chit chat with your peeps on? That thing. I was terrified of it. It’s so…immediate, even confrontational. Email is smooth, laid-back, cool. I’d hate to bother anyone or intrude upon people. Even friends — why call when you discreetly text or IM someone? Or if you’re feeling old fashioned, write a letter, don’t call. It’s much classier.

THIS IS YOUR LIFE! Getting a job is important. There is NO TIME to be wishy-washy, “cool,” or discreet. PICK UP THE DAMN PHONE. (According to web etiquette, the capital letters I use imply that I’m yelling at you. This is not a mistake. I rarely put anything in all caps.).

When it comes to getting a job, bother people. Okay, I’m not saying wage war against employers or your network of contacts by berating them with your words. No, I’m saying getting on the phone makes sure you are heard. You’re standing up for yourself.

It’s okay, I give you permission to use the telephone in your job search. Here are some key phrases I use a lot:

  • “Do you have a minute to talk?”
  • “Is there a time you’re free to chat?”
  • “Is now a good time?”
  • “I wanted to follow up on [insert subject]…”
  • “I wanted to take you up on your offer to chat about [insert subject]…”

And if you’re bad on the phone? Practice. Call your friends often. Better yet, call your parents and family friends. Deal with awkward pauses. It’s like learning a new language — you need to know the words and phrases that lubricate the conversation (yes, I just used the word lubricate, deal with it).

So, what are you waiting for? Repeat after me: pick up the damn phone.

3 Responses to “Pick up the damn phone”

  1. Sarah April 21, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    I have it on good authority that this post is directed at me, and I resent it.

    I have a cripplingly fear of rejection and an overwhelming need to be liked. I reason that people will immediately despise me and my brazenness if I call them and wedge myself into their busy schedules. I don’t think you quite understand the tight little ball of neuroses your all caps demand is unraveling, Ry Guy (yes, I just called you Ry Guy, deal with it).

    Great post though, especially the tags. 😉

  2. Ryan K. April 21, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    No, not directed at you specifically. But rather inspired by you, Sarah. I should note, I still have some issues with this but maybe we should create a support group for phone-phobia. Instead of AA, it the PP. Haha.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dr. Carreros or How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Phone (Sorta) « liberalart.us - July 9, 2010

    […] A couple months ago, Ryan worked himself into an impressive tizzy and essentially told us, “You are all pathetic excuses for adults, step away from your Macbooks and get over yourselves.” He was referring to our generation’s apparent aversion to using the telephone, […]

Leave a Reply

