Adventures in Networking, Pt. 1

19 Apr

The day after I called my career advisor, I logged onto my school’s alumni network and found some people who worked in management consulting, field that I eventually want to enter.  I researched their companies and sent them carefully worded emails, explaining that I was only gathering information about this particular topic and not straight asking for a job.  My plan was to send out a couple of these to see the response before I worked up to 2-3 emails a day.

This is how many emails I sent: 5 This is how many replies I received: 0

So then I thought I would try working my connections locally.  My dad is a partner in a medical group, and there was an opening for a low-level position at his office.  I asked him if I could have an interview with the Dude in Charge, and since they’re friends, Dude happily agreed as long as I submitted an online application.  So I did and thought, “Sarah, way to ride the coattails of people more successful than you!  Awesome, networking is totally for winners!”

This is how many days I waited until Vonetta Jones emailed me a rejection, sans promised interview: 2

Any other girl would be deflated by her results.  Not me.  Yes, my first foray into networking was not at all what I expected, but I have enough maturity to realize that the fault lies entirely with me.  As Ryan says, “It’s about being so impressive that others feel compelled to help you.” I’m just doing it wrong, and simply have to modify my approach.

3 Responses to “Adventures in Networking, Pt. 1”

  1. Ashley Bell April 21, 2010 at 11:08 am #

    Great post Sarah! Dinosaurs? Bacon? Pie? what more could they want?

  2. Avery Finch April 21, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    Your resume looks solid, Sarah, but I think I might see your problem. Studies find that management consultants on average respond 80% more positively to centaurs than to unicorns. Yeah, it’s a sexist remnant of the patriarchal business system, but it has to be acknowledged.

    (Seriously, though, I’m impressed. That’s what it takes, isn’t it? Emailing and calling loads of people till something comes through. In fact the lady I’m babysitting for at this moment sent out her novel manuscript to five prospective agents weeks ago and has been rejected by two and not heard back from three. So it still happens, even as a REAL adult…That was meant to be encouraging, but I don’t think it was. Anyway LOVE YOU!)

  3. Sarah April 22, 2010 at 4:52 pm #

    Ashley-My thoughts exactly! Who could turn down pie? Thanks for reading!

    Avery-I can only pander so much. I will stick to my unicorns until this antiquated system goes the way of shoulder pads and New Coke. There needs to be acceptance in the workplace, which we’ll only see if we defend unicorn rights. Unicorns are filled with love, happiness, magic, and of course, RAINBOWS, so they not only deserve a place in our hearts, but on our payrolls. It’s proven that magic increases productivity one million billion times over.

    To deny unicorns an opportunity to work their wonders is wildly offensive and an affront to magical creatures everywhere. Next you’ll tell me that trolls should be kicked out from the bridges they call home.

Leave a Reply

