Embrace your misery

16 Apr

Jobseekers are commonly told to never give up hope .  Thus, we constantly try to find the silver lining in our situation and be all annoyingly positive and optimistic.

“How am I doing?  Well, I’m spending a lot of time with my family.  My sister creeps into my room on weekend mornings and watches me while I sleep, waiting for me to wake up.  Right, like a cat.  Also, I’m catching up on all that great non-fiction that I’ve been meaning to read.   And I reorganized my closet.  Yeeeep.  Oh, you meant jobwise?  Yeah, well, if you want to LABEL it, no I’m not exactly working…at all.  But I hear the economy’s supposed to pick up soon!  Until then, I plan on sticking to my plan of networking and just putting myself out there, you know?  I’m positive it’ll all work out!  Why are you looking at me like that?  Oh that.  Sometimes, when caught  in bouts of hopeful fantasy, my smile gets fixed to my face.  Got any WD-40?”

Maintaining this attitude leaves one exhausted and disillusioned with the world.  It’s like finding out Santa Claus doesn’t exist, but then trying to kid yourself that not only is he real, it’s physically possible to deliver presents to all the good boys and girls in the entire world in one night.  Logic and science say no, Santa, I don’t care what kind of North Pole space dust you’re smoking.

My point is, rather than forcing yourself into strained positivity, maybe you should just give yourself one wretched moment of freedom to admit how much you really fucking despise your current  situation.  Maybe you need that one instant where you realize, “Holy shit, I’ve hit rock bottom, and I hate it.”  Then, you can remember how terrible that moment felt, and it can be motivator for you to climb out of the rocky bottom you’ve hit.  The admission can be both a release and a catalyst for change.  I can’t think of anything that would motivate me better than a realization that I’m actually pretty miserable, and this needs to change, quick.

Of course, maybe there are some people who totally have their shit together and find the job process a happy magic carpet ride.  To them I say: That’s seriously really great.  Just know that I’m wondering how you’ve managed that, and I now have my suspicions that you may be as real as the Yeti or Chupacabra.

Leave a Reply

